Non Emergency Medical Transportation Accreditation Commission (NEMTAC) is Launching First National NEMT Accreditation Program

The Non Emergency Medical Transportation Accreditation Commission (, has officially launched and is now offering the only national accreditation program that represents non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT) companies, agencies, groups, ridesharing companies and individuals.

Comprised of both private and public organizations providing medically necessary transportation, the NEMT industry often operates under fragmented regulations and disparate operational standards. These vital transportation services serve as the safety net for Medicaid recipients, the elderly, the disabled and those with low incomes requiring access to healthcare services.

NEMTAC, established as a nonprofit organization, enhances and promotes the quality of care in America’s medical transportation system. NEMTAC standards will represent industry best practices to ensure consistently high-quality customer care, safe vehicle operations and ethical business practices. In addition to accreditation, NEMTAC offers basic and advanced education and training certificate programs to individuals working in and seeking a career in the NEMT industry.

Obtaining NEMTAC accreditation distinguishes an organization and signifies to its customers and stakeholders that they have met the NEMT industry standards of excellence. NEMTAC’s comprehensive accreditation process often exceeds those established by state or local regulators. Those who are adherent to NEMTAC standards and accredited should see increased utilization, decreased liability and will be recognized as a market leader.

NEMTAC Pursuing American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Accreditation

NEMTAC has proudly applied for the coveted accreditation as an American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Accredited Standards Developer. By being granted ANSI accreditation, a neutral, third-party will attest that NEMTAC is maintaining adherence to national standards development.

Once approved by ANSI, NEMTAC will then be allowed to submit NEMT standards for approval as American National Standards (ANS). Such standards must demonstrate strict adherence to ANSI’s Essential Requirements, which outline the Institute’s requirements for openness, balance, lack of dominance, due process, and consensus in standards development.


Promoting NEMT Industry Best Practices and Exceptional Standards

The Non Emergency Medical Transportation Accreditation Commission ( is a peer reviewed organization dedicated to improving the provision of medical transportation by providing a dynamic accreditation process through the development of standards, education and technical services.

Our rigorous internal process includes:

* Honest and Analytical Organizational Self-Assessment

* Ethical Business and Billing Practices

* Exceptional Customer Service and Adherence to Industry Best Practices

* Continuous Quality Improvement

* Extensive NEMTAC Staff Education

* Transparency in the Accreditation Process

For more information and to learn how your medical transportation organization or employees can benefit from NEMTAC accreditation, please visit

Author: Michael Shabkie

As an experienced, entrepreneurial healthcare executive, Michael’s passion for improving access to care led to the founding of Non Emergency Medical Transportation Accreditation Commission (NEMTAC) in 2018. NEMTAC is a nonprofit healthcare organization serving as the ANSI Accredited Standard Developer for the NEMT industry. As a neutral, consensus-driven organization, NEMTAC’s critical mission includes developing the first set of national standards for the NEMT industry, accrediting exceptional medical transportation companies, and certifying the NEMT professional through the Certified Transport Specialist (CTS) training program. His 25+ years of advocacy for improving the delivery of medical transportation services is the foundation for developing SDOH healthcare delivery models between Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) providers, EMS providers, healthcare systems, and the communities they serve. Please visit to learn more.